Another weekend of taking it easy

Next weekend is my youngest sister’s wedding.  Thank goodness this week’s stuff didn’t hit then.  I currently have a stomach virus.  The OB called me back this morning and told me to force clear fluids and lay off solid food for at least a day until the (sorry, TMI) diarrhea subsides.  It is currently 12:30 p.m. and my husband is taking a nap on the couch while I write this.  He was awake all night with me as I was going to the bathroom almost each hour.  Of course I continued to pound the water.  I don’t want to get dehydrated.  I also had a raging headache which started Friday afternoon.  So with the headache, the continuous bathroom trips, the cramping (but no bleeding), I am obviously concerned.  It was somewhat reassuring that the doctor didn’t seem to think too much of my complaints.  He said there is a stomach virus running around, so I should just take it easy and let it get out of my system.  This would have been a disaster if this was next weekend.

So tomorrow I will be 11 weeks.  I don’t feel as pregnant.  Earlier in the week I felt super bloated.  My rings were tight, my clothes were tight, I looked puffy.  Today, my breasts don’t hurt – at all – and my rings are slipping as they usually do.  Luckily, I don’t need to be at work today.  I managed to free myself this Saturday (and the next one too).  I still feel sick, but I did take 2 regular Tylenol and the headache is a little better (which is why I can type right now).  Anyway, I just want to sleep through the night.  That has been escaping me for a while now.  Each night this past week I am wide awake for at least 2 or more hours.  I don’t get it. I am exhausted, and when I have the time to sleep I can’t, and when I need to work, I want to sleep.

Anyway, to quickly update.  I stayed on modified bed rest until I saw the doctor on Monday.  It was a super quick appointment because she was called in to a delivery.  She did an abdominal ultrasound and I saw Four wave at me.  That was about all we had time for.  She said that the hematoma had shrunk, which is great.  Then she released me back to work, but with the restrictions of no bending, stooping, squatting, or lifting things over 15 pounds.  I also need to really keep up the fluid as dehydration can cause uterine contractions which can irritate that area and cause more bleeding.  This past Thursday I also reduced my Endometrin down to 2 pills a day.  That made me wonder if my not feeling well was from that.  I guess I am just sick though.

I got back to work Tuesday.  Finally, yesterday I was able to work with my boss on things that I was waiting on.  I felt productive…which was great, until I got that headache.  I keep waiting for the “other shoe to drop” with me missing work as much as I am.  So far, I continue to keep up.  Speaking of, even though I am supposed to be home sick, I am going to make a 45 minute drive to drop off some trophy plates for an event two towns away.  It just has to be done.  Maybe I will get a lemonade on the way.  I wish I had some type of pregnancy symptom to reassure me that Four is doing okay in there.

Leave a Reply

